The Forgotten Gift Too!

Asalaamu Alaykum!

My name is Mariam Riaz, a Graphic Designer by qualification, a Senior Web Editor by profession and a writer at heart. I will be assisting brother Omer in the poetry section entitled, “The Forgotten Gift”. I’ve been writing, in general, ever since I started consciously thinking about things around me. I wrote my first poem when I was 12, but started writing poetry regularly in my late teens. Some of my poetry is a little abstract/indirect because I want the reader to think about it and draw their own conclusions. Please bear with me! :)

Writing is an amazing process of not only expressing yourself, but also of discovering oneself. Ever since I’ve realised my purpose in life, I want to use this medium not only to share my experiences but also to communicate what I’ve learnt for the benefit of others.

May Allah (SWT) accept this endeavour and enable me to use it entirely for His sake. Looking forward to this fantastic journey, inshaAllah! :D

About marieeeam

Graphic Designer | Senior Web Editor | Writer | Amateur Photographer | On an endless quest for knowledge | & other assorted interests

Posted on March 1, 2012, in The Forgotten Gift and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. May Allah give barakah in ur work and make u hadiyam mahdiyya,use ur talent for His beautiful deen,ameen.

  2. jazakillah, havent read any of your work but will love to.
    I’ve always been a writer and a poetess by heart if i can call myself that.
    Been unaware of the guidance I’ve always written abstract pieces, and then left writing altogether after accepting Hidayah!
    but a writer by soul shall always be perturbed unless writing.

    please help me wake up my muse too :)

    jazakillah again,
    asbah.

    • Wa iyyaki :) I would suggest you try taking it up again. My writing has also been a turbulent process amidst several prolonged writer’s/poet’s blocks. When I couldn’t write poetry in the past year or so I switched to writing articles. Hidayah encourages us to write even more, because we need all the great writers we can get! The only way to counter the progressive “pseudo-intellectuals” is by engaging with their medium. But wait, isn’t there an entire Surah named after the “Qalam”? How can we forsake it? And Alhamdulillah ever since I decided to contribute to this section, I seem to have broken through my poet’s block!

      Seek His help, and join the club! :)

Leave a Reply

genuine (tr)eats

homemade goodies for any occasion.

Beauty Frenzy

skincare and makeup blog

Raising Muslims

What job can be more rewarding than raising a child upon the kalimah of "La ilaha illa Allah"?

Always Learning Resources

Sharing for the sake of Allah (swt)

Islamic Lapbooking

Your one stop for Islamic lapbooking resources

My Beginning

Islamic homeschooler

Days of Our Lives 2

...a continuation of Days of Our Lives, a Muslim family's homeschooling journal.

Days of Our Lives

Through Thick and Thin...

Talibiddeen Jr. Companion Blog

Companion Blog to Talibiddeen Jr. - Tips and Tidbits for homeschooling, home, and Islamic life!

Umm Abdul Basir's

Sharing Our Homeschool Adventure!

Muslim Learning Garden

Planting Seeds of Jaariyah

Happy Land

For Islamic Teachings

thegentlemuslimman

Becoming A Muslim Gentleman.

The Humble "I"

Knowing, Doing, Becoming

Iqbalencia

Sharing words with the globe

The Ottawa Cafe Hopper

Your guide to Ottawa's cafe universe.

shaziarif.wordpress.com/

CHECK OUT WWW.SHAZIAARIF.COM

Dumpling Sisters

Chinese-Kiwi sisters bonding through food

