Revive The Light Inside, Let The Change Begin

Sounds like the SIST 2014 theme? That’s because it is the same. I wrote this piece to participate in Spoken Word competition at SIST . Finished it 1 day before the event. Too bad couldn’t memorize it properly and forgot while reading. No position for me  lol But Alhamdulillah everything happens for a reason so I’m happy :) I just noticed that now I have 27 pieces and if I reach 50 I might make them into a small book in sha Allah. Man I missed posting on this blog so much! Please do read the amazing Ahadith posted everyday.

Would you believe me if I said there’s an army coming?

Would you prepare to fight, or would you start running?

Or maybe you would laugh cuz you know I’m a liar…

And after a short while, I would just stop trying…

Maybe to you I’m like that shepherd who used to lie

Who had no real threat yet “A Lion, A Lion!” he used to cry…

But I’m confused because whatever I say is not even a lie…

 

I only try to correct you and tell you what is right

Remind you of the Hereafter; tell you about Allah’s Might

So you might come back to the path that is straight

But I’m getting impatient and now I really can’t wait

Cuz it’s late, and I have to go to the cinema with my friend

I really didn’t want to but it is the newest trend

So I spend what I can, to stay up to date

Now if you excuse me I have to leave for my date

But listen to me my mate, you should really fear Allah

Whenever you hear the call, just run for your Salah

And surely Allah will show you your way

The path of those who are guided and not of those who are astray

Man I don’t understand why you don’t listen to me!

I seem to be doing the Da’wah properly!!

 

So I guess it has something to do with that advice

My mother once gave me while cooking white rice

That if you want to change the world you would have to start from yourself!

That people wouldn’t trust me if I committed sins myself!

How I ignored the words that came straight from her heart

Thinking I had my cool ways, thinking I was really smart

But now I see what she said was indeed very right

It was my narrow thinking and my limited insight

And now I realize it after many long days

That I really have to stop, that I have to mend my ways

Cuz change, change and change!! We all want to see it!

The funny thing is that no one is ready to be it

So I gotta start from today and firmly decide

Make sincere Du’a that only to Allah I should confide

To revive the light inside and let the change begin…

Cuz “Allah does not change the condition of a people, unless they change what is within…” [Interpretation of the meaning – Surah Ar-Ra’d, verse 11]

Be The Change

About Omer

Poet | Blogger | Mechanical Engineer | Member of Youth Club | Student of the Quran and Hadith

Posted on February 27, 2014, in iLook, The Forgotten Gift and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

genuine treats

homemade goodies for any occasion.

Beauty Frenzy

skincare and makeup blog

Raising Muslims

What job can be more rewarding than raising a child upon the kalimah of "La ilaha illa Allah"?

Always Learning Resources

Sharing for the sake of Allah (swt)

Islamic Lapbooking

Your one stop for Islamic lapbooking resources

My Beginning

Islamic homeschooler

Days of Our Lives 2

...a continuation of Days of Our Lives, a Muslim family's homeschooling journal.

Days of Our Lives

Through Thick and Thin...

Talibiddeen Jr. Companion Blog

Companion Blog to Talibiddeen Jr. - Tips and Tidbits for homeschooling, home, and Islamic life!

Umm Abdul Basir's

Sharing Our Homeschool Adventure!

Muslim Learning Garden

Planting Seeds of Jaariyah

Happy Land

For Islamic Teachings

thegentlemuslimman

Becoming A Muslim Gentleman.

The Humble "I"

Knowing, Doing, Becoming

Iqbalencia

Sharing words with the globe

The Ottawa Cafe Hopper

Your guide to Ottawa's cafe universe.

shaziarif.wordpress.com/

CHECK OUT WWW.SHAZIAARIF.COM

Dumpling Sisters

Chinese-Kiwi sisters bonding through food

