Because What If You Sleep and Never Wake Up?

Inspiration: A status of Shahraiz Tabassam, which is the title of this poem (or at least that’s what I remember it was). I told him I’d write something on this and he said I better get credits for it. Although he was joking but I do owe him a jazakAllah khayr for putting that up :) Check out his work here https://www.facebook.com/studiostabassam

P.S. I’m reading this at SIST ’13 insha’Allah :) Do pray Allah gives me the courage and wisdom to carry it out properly! 

 

We slumber as time passes by

On this strange journey that we’re on

Rarely do we wake up and realize

We need to worry about what’s going on

Do we even care on those occasions?

When we find someone who never arose?

Lying there, breathless, soulless…

Everyone around them when is morose…

Have we ever thought about what happens to him?

Who’s not able now to follow his whim?

Depends when the angels came to take his soul

Was he doing a good deed or was he doing a sin?

 

How prepared are we?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And what would happen to us? – The arrogant ones!

So thoughtlessly pointing the mistakes of one another!

But how do we feel when the Quran is recited?

Take it in enjoyment or do we ever shudder?

And what do we do when it’s time for Salah?

Keep going on with our routine works?

Or do we leave everything and say Labbaiyk

When we hear the caller saying “Hayya ‘Alal Falah, Hayya ‘Alal Falah”

 

No need to be amused

Cuz I’m really confused

Is all of this just a dream?

And all I need to do is scream!

If this world is just a lie

Would I wake up only when I die?

NO I need to take a stand

Start obeying HIS command

Time to solve this mystery

What happened is all history

Can’t wait for Death to wake me up

When angels come and shake me up

I need to know the answers

Of all the questions I’ll be asked

 

But first, I need to break free from the society that has chained me up

Because what if I go to sleep and never really wake up!

 

About Omer

Poet | Blogger | Mechanical Engineer | Member of Youth Club | Student of the Quran and Hadith

Posted on October 6, 2012, in The Forgotten Gift and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. MashaAllah! At a loss for words…

  2. MashaAllah ! Allahuma Barik Feeh.

  3. Alhamdulillah. All praise be to Allah SWT. May Allah accept it from me, Ameen.

  4. Masha’Allah my dude. by the way, was it supposed to say “Everyone around them THEN is morose” instead of “Everyone around them WHEN is morose”?

    • NOPE lol Basically that line is “when everyone around them is morose..” But to make it a bit more poetic I wrote “everyone around them when is morose..” So it’s perfectly ok. :)
      and jazakAllah khayr. All praise be to Allah.

  5. AMAZING!! Masha Allah you’re getting better and better in this. :)

  6. tuinshi nasution

    this reminds me a hadith about how painful the “sakaratul maut”/”the separation of ruh and body process”, if im not mistaken it was told by prophet Idris alaihissalam

  7. ma sha Allah bro :)

Leave a Reply

genuine treats

homemade goodies for any occasion.

Beauty Frenzy

skincare and makeup blog

Raising Muslims

What job can be more rewarding than raising a child upon the kalimah of "La ilaha illa Allah"?

Always Learning Resources

Sharing for the sake of Allah (swt)

Islamic Lapbooking

Your one stop for Islamic lapbooking resources

My Beginning

Islamic homeschooler

Days of Our Lives 2

...a continuation of Days of Our Lives, a Muslim family's homeschooling journal.

Days of Our Lives

Through Thick and Thin...

Talibiddeen Jr. Companion Blog

Companion Blog to Talibiddeen Jr. - Tips and Tidbits for homeschooling, home, and Islamic life!

Umm Abdul Basir's

Sharing Our Homeschool Adventure!

Muslim Learning Garden

Planting Seeds of Jaariyah

Happy Land

For Islamic Teachings

thegentlemuslimman

Becoming A Muslim Gentleman.

The Humble "I"

Knowing, Doing, Becoming

Iqbalencia

Sharing words with the globe

The Ottawa Cafe Hopper

Your guide to Ottawa's cafe universe.

shaziarif.wordpress.com/

CHECK OUT WWW.SHAZIAARIF.COM

Dumpling Sisters

Chinese-Kiwi sisters bonding through food

